The Awakening: The Dragon Heart Legacy #1 by Nora Roberts – Review

the awakening book coverThe Awakening (The Dragon Heart Legacy #1) by Nora Roberts – #1 New York Times bestselling author Nora Roberts begins a new trilogy of adventure, romance, and magic in The Awakening.

In the realm of Talamh, a teenage warrior named Keegan emerges from a lake holding a sword—representing both power and the terrifying responsibility to protect the Fey. In another realm known as Philadelphia, a young woman has just discovered she possesses a treasure of her own…

When Breen Kelly was a girl, her father would tell her stories of magical places. Now she’s an anxious twentysomething mired in student debt and working a job she hates. But one day she stumbles upon a shocking discovery: her mother has been hiding an investment account in her name. It has been funded by her long-lost father—and it’s worth nearly four million dollars.

This newfound fortune would be life-changing for anyone. But little does Breen know that when she uses some of the money to journey to Ireland, it will unlock mysteries she couldn’t have imagined. Here, she will begin to understand why she kept seeing that silver-haired, elusive man, why she imagined his voice in her head saying Come home, Breen Siobhan. It’s time you came home. Why she dreamed of dragons. And where her true destiny lies—through a portal in Galway that takes her to a land of faeries and mermaids, to a man named Keegan, and to the courage in her own heart that will guide her through a powerful, dangerous destiny… 

ISBN-10 : 1250272610 – ISBN-13 : 978-1250272614
Genre : Fantasy, Paranormal, Romance
Publisher : St. Martin’s Press (November 24, 2020)
Amazon  –  Goodreads

Nora RobertsAbout the Author: Nora Roberts is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of more than 200 novels, including Shelter in Place, Year One, Come Sundown, and many more. She is also the author of the bestselling In Death series written under the pen name J.D. Robb. There are more than five hundred million copies of her books in print.

Review of The Awakening (The Dragon Heart Legacy #1) 

The Awakening is the first book in The Dragon Heart Legacy by Nora Roberts. I am a huge fan of Roberts and especially love her trilogies. The Awakening is a bit different than her usual trilogies where there are 3 books with 3 couples because The Awakening is just the beginning of Breen’s story. Robert’s description of Ireland made me feel like I was smack dab in the middle of Ireland….and beyond. The characters are well-written with mysterious backstories that slowly come to light at just the right time to help the story move along at a smooth, steady pace. I was drawn in from the beginning and could not put this one down until the very end. The cliffhanger ending took me by surprise and left me anxious for the next book in the series. *I received a complimentary copy in exchange for a review.*

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s